Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

With my credit profile, Buy or Lease?

tag
Denny33142
Regular Contributor

With my credit profile, Buy or Lease?

I am looking to get a new car but i have no prior experience as i have never financed or leased a car.

Basically what i am looking at is a Hyundai Elantra Coupe which are valued at around 18K brand new.

I am leaning towards leasing because the monthly payments are a lot lower and i like the idea of having a new car every 2 years, However i have also heard that it is a lot harder to lease then to finance.

If i decide to buy should i seek the auto loan myself directly from a bank (like Capital One) or should i just go straight to the dealer and have them find a bank for me instead? The less down i have to give the better but if i need to i can give up to 8K down which would only bring the loan to 10K.

My credit score right now is around 650-660 and i have an income of around $2200 a month, It is worth noting that i am 23 and live in Miami so  insurance is likely to be very high.

Any answers are appreciated, I am looking to get this done by the end of the month.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
webhopper
Moderator Emeritus

Re: With my credit profile, Buy or Lease?

Hyndai financing is actually one of the better financing programs from what I've heard. They also have promotions going on such as $159/month for 24 months with $1999 due at signing.

They also have the college grad program:

If you’re graduating in the next six months, or you graduated within the past two years, you can buy any new Hyundai with:

• No down payment required
• An additional $400 on top of current Hyundai rebates*
• Ninety days until the first payment (note: not available in the states of CT and PA)

Valued Owner Coupon