Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

repo

tag
lola52
Established Member

repo

Hello. My 2003 vw beetle convertible with 104k miles was repossessed. I couldnt afford the payments and i let my bank know that. They said i have until saturday to pay the past due if not it will go to auction. I owe $4000 on it.i cant even afford to pay the past due. Im 20 years old. Should i just let it go to the auction?

How will it affect me in the future? Im a full time student graduating with my bachelors spring 2016.
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: repo

A repossession has both short and long term consequences.  It doesn't matter if it is a voluntary repo or involuntary.

If the car is repossed and sold by the lender the small amount that is obtained is applied to your outstanding balance + the late fees, penalty interest rate + repo fees + auction fees and any other fee the lender can think of to add to your balance due.  Then you still owe the rest.

The lender can, and many do, get a judgment against you for the balance and it is subject to statutory interest. Judgements last anywhere from 10 years to 20 years depending upon where you are located (which state).

A better solution would be for you to redeem the repo and then sell the vehicle so you don't have that large remaining balance.

If it isn't possible for you to get the vehicle back, then as soon as you get the notice of sale and the remaining balance - make payments on the amount due to keep a judgment from happening to you. At your age the judgment will really hurt you.

Having said that - if you end up with a judgment, then you pay the judgment and get a Satisfaction recorded. However, the judgement amounts are much, much higher than the original debt.

In any event, you see that the debt doesn't dissappear. It just becomes larger, and lasts for a much longer time.