Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

About to file 7

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

About to file 7

Paying the final amount we owe to our laywer tomorrow, and should be able to get filed next week or the next. Can someone tell me our long term credit situation? We will keep paying on 1 car and our furniture. I am wondering will we be able to get a CC this summer? I'm new to this so just wondering. We learned our lesson!

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
enjoimorenow
Frequent Contributor

Re: About to file 7

It will depend on your scores and who you burn in BK...

after you get your discharge you can try the prequal on CapOne, and see if you can get a QS or Platinum.  If not, maybe a secured card from CapOne or someone else.

Read the BK to 700 thread, lots of good info in there.

BK 7 Scores (08/2016): EQ-528. TU-486. EX-530.
Current Scores (04/2022): EQ-717. TU-735. EX-736.
Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Honestly we had CC w/everyone. I know that's terrible. Everyon except Discover basically. Cap 1, Barclays, Citi, BOA, AMEX. Smiley Sad 

Message 3 of 16
barbaralee
Established Contributor

Cap1 and Barclays is forgiving, but Barclays takes time to warm back up. I don't think Amex, BofA, Citi, Chase, and Discover are as nice. I think Discover said they like to see 1-2 years of rebuilding. But I finally just got approved for a Chase card, and it only took 7.5 years. Smiley Indifferent

Message 4 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

We never had a discover so does that help? I don't even know what our credit is right now but it can't be good. We are going Monday to set a date w/the Lawyer.

Message 5 of 16
barbaralee
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

We never had a discover so does that help? I don't even know what our credit is right now but it can't be good. We are going Monday to set a date w/the Lawyer.

I think Discover still likes to see that 1-2 years of rebuilding, but YMMV. 

Message 6 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable