Credit Cards Center Credit cards from our partners
Highlighted
Established Contributor

Re: Bankruptcy FAQs

Great resource! Thank you so much for putting this together! As one who went through a ch7 four years ago, I agree with a lot of the information presented in the FAQs.

One thing I did notice that I believe may be inaccurate is "You have to be a US citizen to file."  That is not true.  I was a permanent resident when I filed (now a citizen as of March 2013 woo hoo!) and had no issues concerning that.  Now I don't know if you have to at least be a permanent resident but I do know you didn't have to be a US citizen when I filed.  Maybe it has changed since 2010?

Current scores: myFICO: 670/TU(Wal): 664/TU(Dis): 659 (Goal: 700)
Last app: 1/3/2014; (Prayerfully!) gardening until: 7/3/2014

~I'm living for an audience of One!
Established Member

I just checked ndc.org and it says under my chapter 13    Case Status:  Completed SD....and Date closed 2/12/14....Can someone tell me what SD stands for?  also, I have over 3,000.00  balance on hand...will this money get refunded to me  since case is closed or get sent to creditors?   Appreciate any info...

Never Look Down on Anyone Unless You are Helping Them Up
New Visitor

Thank you all for this great information. Now a days nearly all consumer bankruptcy attorneys offer free consultations . We can take good benefits of this  and can also get advice based on all of the details of  particular case.

New Visitor

My wife and I will be filing Bk soon. What is a good strategy to rebuild our credit?

Established Member