Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Bankruptcy FAQs

tag
Math_Rocks
Established Contributor

I am no expert but I think your ability to set up payments with your creditors depends on who they are. We had a LOT of creditors not willing to work with us but they were willing to work with our DMP (this was pre-BK Ch. 13). However, we had some, Barclay's, that were totally unwilling to work with the DMP and only marginally willing to work with us. They called day and night and it was extremely stressful. As you can read in another thread, "Journey through Chapter 13", the stress of it all became too much and we were neglecting legitimate needs of our family to keep paying the DMP and Barclay's. We filed Ch. 13 last April. It was devastating at first but now I wish we had done it sooner because we would be done sooner. We now have four more years to go. FWIW, contact your creditors, all of them, and see what they are willing to do. If, in totality, it is too much, find a new attorney and do the BK. You will see from lots of people here, it is a difficult choice but one with many, many benefits. You need to do what is best for you and your family.

Filed Chapter 13 April 2012. Case successfully closed May 2017, about 1 month after 60th payment. FAKO scores on close date: TU 695 EQ 697. Received discharge July 11th - took forever! Real EX day of discharge 624.
Message 61 of 76
sgtm7
Established Member