Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Car loan post Chapter 13

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Car loan post Chapter 13

So my husband and I are waiting on our discharge papers. We did 5 years on Chapter 13, kept our house.  We are in desperate need of a car as mine is falling apart and barely running. I am looking at a loan for around $25,000 putting $5,000 down.

My FICO score is 687. What kind of rate do you think I could get? And do we need to have discharge papers in our hands when we go to apply for loans?

Also, is it best to apply online for the loan or in person to discuss the discharge?

Thanks for all your help. I hope my questions aren't stupid. I am new to this.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Car loan post Chapter 13

I didnt need anything when I financed a (new to me) car and I was a year away from discharge.  687 is your FICO?  Do you know what your Auto scores are?  No matter.  Mine were in the tank still at the time, and my trustee of course approved the deal which you wont need since you are discharged and they are paid in full.

Anyway, because I was still tanked I even got a 9% rate which at the time it didnt matter.  Still doesnt really as my payments aer $263 (i put $6K down) and I pay extra every payment.  No need to refinance to a lower rate and start all over again just to save a bit of interest.

Message 2 of 6
medicgrrl
Valued Contributor