Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clarification about mortgages and bankruptcy from a bankruptcy attorney

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Clarification about mortgages and bankruptcy from a bankruptcy attorney

Hi everyone,

I am a licensed bankruptcy attorney and have practiced bankruptcy exclusively for over 8 years. I was on this forum doing a bit of research on a different topic for a client, and have seen many questions regarding mortgages and bankruptcy credit reporting. I thought I'd give some legal background to provide more understanding to those who have questions, and help to clarify.

A mortgage is actually made up of two different legal documents that you sign when you get the mortgage (close on it). One is the Mortgage (or Deed of Trust as it's known in some states), and one is the Note. Each document has language in it that says it is to be read and works in conjunction with the other.

Each document has different legal effects to the creditor and consequences to you, the borrower.

The Mortgage (or Deed of Trust) is the document giving the mortgage company the right to foreclose on your home if you default in any way under the Mortgage or Note, because it contains language securing the loan they give you (mortgage) against your home, so that if you don't pay the loan back to them pursuant to the terms of the Mortgage and Note, they can take your home because of your default.

The Note is your personal promise to repay the loan (mortgage). Signing the Note renders you personally, legally responsible to pay the loan back to the mortgage company pursuant to the terms of the Mortgage and Note.

If you default and stop making your payments, or default in another way under these contracts, the mortgage company can foreclose on you (take your house back) under the Mortgage, or sue you under the Note for the total amount owed, or do both (foreclose and then sue you for any balance remaining owed after the foreclosure sale).