Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fresh BK7 Filing (well will be filed Tuesday)... Long post within

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fresh BK7 Filing (well will be filed Tuesday)... Long post within

A Brief Introduction...

For  me, this is my second BK7 (filed a little over 12 years ago when my first business went bust, and I was left holding the bag on a significant amount of money when my partner fled the country.... ), For my wife, this is her first, This last 2 months have been excruciating for her, she is completely stressed out and not taking this well.  However this is our only option to move forward in life. 

I am an independant consultant (IT) and while I have a very good income, I have old debs, very old debts, very old and very large debts to the IRS from my younger years when I was not so responsible.  I made mistakes, and the IRS has taken to teach me a lesson I already learned, they have been uncooperative, and unwilling to work with myself or my attorney, and their last payment plan was 85% of my gross income, you read that right 85% of my GROSS!  Just insane how these people can sleep at night.  

My attorney approached me about 2 months ago, citing that even though I would not meet the means test, I could back door a BK7 utilizing a clause for business debt, or non consumer debt to be more precise.  As long as >51% of my debt is non comsumer (IRS debt is considered Compulsury, and non comsumer) you can bypass the means test.  This Blew my mind. I never thought BK was an option for me, PERIOD! We continued to do some research and began putting it all together, and upon legal advice, we have included all of our debts, except 1 (our truck I will get to why we are reaffirming that in a moment).