Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bankruptcy FAQs

tag
Tuscani
Moderator Emeritus

Bankruptcy FAQs

This information is not legal advice and I am not a lawyer. Always seek a reputable bankruptcy lawyer to answer your questions prior to filing.

- Tuscani

---

Should I file Bankruptcy?

A person should file a bankruptcy if, and only if, he or she can’t pay bills as they come due or is about to lose property or have property attached by the Court. Very few people lose any property when they file bankruptcy.

Filing a bankruptcy is generally better than having a foreclosure on your credit record. A person will often be able to rebuild credit and buy a house within 2 years after a bankruptcy. A repossession can do more damage to your credit, and it may take much, much longer to recover. Government regulations may forever keep you from financing a home with the VA or FHA if you have a repossession for a home, but allows financing 2 years after bankruptcy. Only 7 magical items may not be bankrupted: Child Support and Alimony; taxes less than 3 years old; federally guaranteed student loans; debts due to fraud; debts due to drunk driving; debts due to intentional injuries; and criminal restitution. There are many exceptions to even these. A driver’s license can be reinstated by filing, if you lost your license because of unpaid damages for an auto accident. When in doubt, always list the debt when filing: It may be bankruptable due to an exception.

What does it cost to file bankruptcy?

After October 2005, Court costs are about$300 for a Chapter 7 and $275 for a Chapter 13. After October 2005 Chapter 7 attorney fees run about $1000 plus any filing fees. Chapter 13 Attorney fees are set by the Court.

What happens when I file?