Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has anyone been successful at...

tag
Divadeuce007

Has anyone been successful at...

Hi all,

I am nearly 3 years post-discharge of my Chapter7 BK.... Unfortunately I was a fairly easy target when I entered college and ended up filling when I was 25. I had inquired about discharge of student loan debt back when I was going thru the BK process, however, I was told that it would be nearly impossible to get any of my loans included. 3 years later I am still in the same living situation as I was then. I am a professional volunteer (by way of AmeriCorps/PeaceCorps) and have stayed a student simply because my private student loans are way too much per month. By too much I mean, I make $900 a month, I pay bills and transportation cost to get to work, and one of my loan servicers want $405 a month. I have over $200K in student loans thus far. I recently put my federally backed loans into a direct loan consolidation, where I plan to do an income based or income contingent repayment plan. This only takes care of about $89K of my student loan debt.

Again, I am still in school because I am afraid to come out at this point, there is no way I will be able to pay for those private loans. None of my servicers want to help me, In three years I have not been able to find a F/T job that will pay me nearly enough to handle my finances how I would like to, despite my education and skills, and I don't foresee any of this changing. My current thought is to figure out a way to consolidate my private loans so that I can at the bare minimum release my mom from the bondage this is being a co-signer on one of these student loans. But I wasn't sure how successful I would be at that.

I guess, my question(s) to you all are:

1) Has anyone been successful at consolidating private student loans, post BK? Was your credit score high? Low?