Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help. BK filed but not discharged

tag
Raiders1
Valued Member

Help. BK filed but not discharged

Hello everyone, I have no experience with bankruptcy so I was hoping to get some guidance. I’m trying to help my dad rebuild his credit. My dad had one of those adjustable rate mortgages that hurt a lot of people. About two years ago he was going into foreclosure and was trying to save his house. He wanted to do a short sale instead of getting foreclosed on. As part of the effort to keep the house long enough to short sale the person who was helping him told him to file for bankruptcy in order to buy some time, which he did 3 times (about once every three months) until they were able to short sale his house. I’m not sure that was the right thing to do but at the time he didn’t know any better and trusted this person. Now he has 3 ***bankruptcy*** filings on his credit report but none of them were discharged, they were just filed. Since they weren’t discharged and he has/had no debt other than his house is there any way to fix them (canceling the filing or having the court dismiss them)? He has two credit cards that are PIF and an otherwise good credit history but those BK filings have his score at 586. Is there any way to fix this? Or does he just have to wait it out and try to rebuild with those filings on his record? He is in California, if that helps. Thanks everyone.

***Edited: originally said three foreclosure filings, should be 3 bankruptcy filings on his credit report.***

Starting Scores:
EQ FICO 648 - TU08 598 - EX FAKO 544 (1/2012)
Current Scores: EQ 703 - TU 767 - EX 750
In My Wallet: AMEX BCE ($22.5K), Discover It ($10K), USAA World MC ($9K), Chase Freedom ($8K), Fidelity Rewards ($5K), Citi Double Cash ($4.5K) Walmart ($4.5K),
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

Re: Help. BK filed but not discharged