cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Long To Wait After Bankruptcy To Apply For Car Loan...

tag
jrbell10

How Long To Wait After Bankruptcy To Apply For Car Loan...

Hi Guys! I'm a newbie here. I just filed for bankruptcy last year because my husband got out of the military (and jobs are impossible to find around here) Smiley Frustrated It was discharged in January of this year. So, it's been recent. My questions are how long should i wait before applying for a car loan? Also, how long should I wait before applying for a credit card? I have no idea what I'm doing with any of this! I don't want to do any hard inquiries if I'm going to get denied. We are in desperate need of a car BUT I'M NOT ABOUT TO BUY A PIECE OF JUNK BECAUSE OF A BK. I will save every penny and pay cash first. Smiley Indifferent However, I see it coming up soon and I'm worried that I won't be able to save enough cash in time. Anyone have any suggestions? I think I owed everybody and their grandmother so our BK included A LOT of the big name places (JCPenny, Walmart, Victorias Secret, Cap One the list goes on and on). Any ideas on where I should start to rebuild this mess that we've gotten ourselves into?

Ursula

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
TRC_WA
Senior Contributor

Re: How Long To Wait After Bankruptcy To Apply For Car Loan...

Have you looked at your credit reports and verified everything is reporting correctly?  What are your FICO scores?

The last thing you want to do is go out and start applying for credit and car loans when your reports aren't correct... that will definitely lead to swift denials and wasted inquiries.

You are free to apply now for whatever you'd like... AFTER you verify your credit reports.  That's how I would do it...

FICO8 current as of : 4-17-24 EQ: 724 TU: 707 EX: 706
Hard INQs last 12 months: EQ: 5 | TU: 8 | EX: 9
Verizon Visa $8500 Amex Delta Reserve $10,000 Care Credit $18,000