Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Advice

Last November I had a UTI and ended up having to get enlarged prostate surgery in January. The surgeon messed up going in and cut me in 2 spots which requied 2 follow up surgeries. I was catheterized for weeks. In January I was also diagnosed with untreated type 2 Diabetes. I went onto a whole foods plant based diet and brought my numbers back to normal levels in 2 months. In February (Between the 2 saurgeries I stumbled and fell into a wall and was knowcked unconscious for 6 minutes. I had amnesia for 3 days (I am still suffing from some memroy issues).. In April after the 2 surgeries I was diagnosed with frozen shoulder from a tear from the fall. In May I was still recuperating from all the stuff. I am a high school teacher & principal (Private School). The last semester I was only there 3 of the 18 weeks. In June I was having some serious issues with pain, muscle and weight loss. In July I was sent to the cancer treqtment center to see if I had marrow cancer. 2 weeks later they said I did not have cancer. THANK GOD! They did a full blood panel in August and discovered that the root of most of my issues was HyperThyroidism. I had lost 80% muscle mass and 60 pounds in 9 months. Now that I am being treated I have recovered 30 lbs and some muscle. The big thing for about 3 months was my inability to think. I was in a cloud for quite some time.

Now the school did not reopen because of lack of funding. I had no insurance and my wife works as a receptionist. We aquired a lot of debt and it doesn't look good for me to be employed for another 6 months.

I have decided to file a chapter 7. Since I have no income that will not be an issue for me. However, my wife will have about $40,000 this year. She has been paying on her cards until last month when we could no longer afford to and still feed our 3 kids.