Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about BK7 to 700 plan...

tag
BeingBetter

Question about BK7 to 700 plan...

Hello All!

I have been lurking on these forums for a looong time but this is my first time posting.

I am filing BK7 this month. I am actually sending the last of my documents to my attorney tomorrow.

I have read the BK7 to 700 thread beginning to end. I have the original plan copied and pasted into a word document and printed out so that I can pencil in the dates after I'm discharged to stay on track.

My question is this.....

I'm about 99% certain I'm going to have to finance some sort of vehicle as soon as I'm discharged. My car was repossessed three weeks ago. I live in a super rural area with no public transportation.

At the moment I am borrowing a vehicle and making the payment in return for being able to drive it, which is ridiculously high.

Anyway, obviously this isn't a long term solution. I would love to be able to buy something outright but seeing as how I commute 150 miles a day I need something that is going to last longer than a month or two, which is about all I can afford to pay cash for.

The dealers in my area haven't let go of the cash-for-clunkers business and offer upwards of $3k for trade in of anything, so reliable older used cars are next to impossible to find.

Anyway.... Would financing a car after discharge tank my chances at doing well with the rest of the BK7 to 700 plan?

Posting from mobile, I'm sorry for the typos!
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
0REDSOX7
Valued Contributor

Re: Question about BK7 to 700 plan...

Hello.

I was in your boat. I had to finance two vehicles post BK. I actually got decent rates (12.99% on both of them) five days post discharge.

I am following the plan as laid out minus the car loans.

I have already seen my score go from mid 500s to 625 as of yesterday (I am four months post discharge).