cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: should you ever file bk to get out of a car loan?

tag
annm
New Contributor

I feel like I'm at my wits end. I have tried to rebuild my credit with marginal success. I think it hovers around 617, which is progress from some 490 when I started.

But it isn't good enough. Not good enough for a refinance. Not good enough for credit cards with a CL higher than $500. I'm sick of all of this.

My major issue is a car loan that I'm trapped in for another 4 years. I took it out, because I was naive and really stupid and also believed that I would somehow be able to refinance it in 2 years and all would be right with the world.   2 and a half years later and I realize I've paid almost 15k for an 18k car that I still owe 14k on is making me too sick for words. But I typed a bunch anyway. 

I don't need the car anymore. I moved to a major city with major transportation. While it's a great luxury it's expensive and I can do without it. If I could get out of this car I would save around $700 a month - car note, the full coverage car insurance required on the car, gas, downtown parking garage for my job.  I might actually be able to afford a life?

I have 4 collections that I can't get rid of. One is scheduled to fall off this year but whatever, I can't imagine it will do much of anything to my scores.

I don't want to refinance this car anymore I just want to drive it into the RIVER. I don't want this outrageous payment for another 2 years if I somehow managed to refinance and definitely not for another 4 years if I can't.

My credit has been screwed up for most of my life, what's a BK? I'm not planning on buying a house anytime soon.

The only thing I'd be concerned about is a Care Credit account that my dad co-signed for me. I had a $7000 medical bill that I have paid down faithfully to about $3100. I don't want him to get hurt in any way, in fact, I think paying this may have helped his credit score.