Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Up 12 points!! And a question about a car Refi

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Up 12 points!! And a question about a car Refi

This is my first time posting here but i've been following for the last few weeks trying to re-build after a BK that was just discharged last month.  

I ran my TU and EX scores and they came back at 619 and 599 last week, but then I finally realized the difference between FICO and FAKO, so I paid through myFico and got my FICO score and I was saddened to see that it was only a 568, I was not doing nearly as well as I thought I was after discharge.  

Well, I was able to get a Capital One Quicksilver and a Capital One Platinum both at $300 limits and through the shopping cart trick I was able to get VS and Express, both at $250.  Everything I have read from here said 3-4 good revolving lines of credit and that should seriously help me in my re-build, plus I have an auto loan that started in June and is perfect and will stay that way.  

Anyways....just now I got an alert from Score Alert saying there had been a change to my FICO score and I sign on and BAM! Up 12 points!  2 out of the 4 new accounts started reporting and I got an increase to 580 FICO!!!  I know I still have a long way to go but i'm excited anyways.  

So, now for the question.....I applied for and was approved for a savings account at NFCU this past week, I would love to refinance my truck soon to drop my payments, any suggestions on when?  What my scores should be like for them to approve it?  Right now my interest on the truck is 15.9% so my payment is $481.13, if I can get it down into the $300's i'd be thrilled.  

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
0REDSOX7
Valued Contributor

Re: Up 12 points!! And a question about a car Refi

If I were you - I would wait until your scores hit 600 - so if that means gardening for a month or two and keeping your utilization down.