Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

credit after BK not improving?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

credit after BK not improving?

I'm new to this forum and glad I found it.  I am seriously confused!  I (and the DH) filed for BK and it was discharged (CH 7) just over 2 years ago.  I have gone through numerous steps of making sure my and DH info reports correctly to our credit.  I have been working my butt off for two years and our credit is not getting better!  My vehicle recently broke down and I thought an auto loan would be no problem - yeah right!  Now I am freaking because we were waiting for our 2 years to pass so we could get a mortgage.

Here is an overview...DH's credit was the real problem (had a CH 13 back in 2002, a repo, and numerous collections), My credit was in the low 600's but all of our credit was in my name and I was only 25 when we filed the CH 7 in 2005.  We reaffirmed 2 auto loans after the BK.  I opened 1 credit card w/ $1000. limit as a joint accnt w/DH.  ALL of my accounts (even b4 BK) show never late payments, paid off 2 student loans and 2 auto loans before the BK.  I recently had to get another auto loan, so now I have VERY NEW credit.  But when we went to get the auto loan we were flat turned away by the Ford dealership.  They could not get us approved w/ anyone.  I was shocked! 

Both my and DH current credit reports show no unpaid collections, no late pays, low balance on the credit card, but high installment debt. I should also mention the repo on DH credit is past 7 years and is no longer reporting.  What can I do to ensure a mortgage loan within the very near future?

Also, is there any way to get old collection accounts already paid in full removed from CR?  And would this help our scores?  I can't think of anything else to do!  Would I contact OC or CA?
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
kilogram
Established Member

Re: credit after BK not improving?

What are your FICO scores?
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable