Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I want to invest in a company

tag
DeeBee78
Valued Contributor

I want to invest in a company

My friend's clothing company is doing extremely well, and he was looking to expand into some other areas. I suggested to him that we could partner on a line, and I would also be interested in buying part of the company. He would prefer I become an investor, rather than an owner, but he's open to either.

The total amount we were looking at was between $25,000 - $30,000. I have no experience getting a business loan, and really don't know where to start. I see lots of search results for getting a loan to buy a business, but not much for getting a loan to invest in a business. I have several questions about the process:

Is the process the same whether I'm buying or investing?

Is there any difference if I'm buying part of the business, instead of the whole thing? 

Any recommendations on companies I should try to work with? 

What kind of documentation will my friend need to provide if I can secure the loan?

Thanks in advance for any advice! 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Bobbyjohnson
New Contributor

Re: I want to invest in a company

@DeeBee78 wrote:

My friend's clothing company is doing extremely well, and he was looking to expand into some other areas. I suggested to him that we could partner on a line, and I would also be interested in buying part of the company. He would prefer I become an investor, rather than an owner, but he's open to either.

The total amount we were looking at was between $25,000 - $30,000. I have no experience getting a business loan, and really don't know where to start. I see lots of search results for getting a loan to buy a business, but not much for getting a loan to invest in a business. I have several questions about the process:

Is there any difference if I'm buying part of the business, instead of the whole thing?