Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Business - Net15, Net30?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to Business - Net15, Net30?

So I'm fairly new to business and most of our clients pay by check up front. But we've received new vendor paperwork from 2 businesss that have a payment Question on them that says Net 15. Net 30.

We're wondering what exactly it means? I know the basics from googling it. That it means a client has 10,15,30 days to pay you and if they pay sooner you should offer a discount. How exactly does the Net15 or Net30 work though?

Our prices are already very discounted because we're a new business undercutting the competition so can't really go much lower. Also, the businesss that gave us them aren't large enough to warrant any special discounts they're smaller clients. Any advice will help thanks!
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New to Business - Net15, Net30?

Bump
Message 2 of 8
-Cal-
Valued Contributor

From my experience, it usually means that they will take up to 15 or 30 days from the day of the invoice to pay you. Your agreement will either be Net15 or Net30 (not both). In some (rare) cases, companies will pay up to Net90.

Some companies will allow vendors to "accelerate" their payments for a small fee which may appear to be extending a discount from your perspective, but this is usually a fee charged by a 3rd party factoring company that they have a relationship with. 

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is there a contract you sign to receive net30 payments? So you don't get payments directly from the person/business you're selling to?
Message 4 of 8
-Cal-
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Is there a contract you sign to receive net30 payments? So you don't get payments directly from the person/business you're selling to?