Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking of starting my own company

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thinking of starting my own company

Hi everyone,

I've been working with the same amazing company for about 10 years. I've worked my way up the payroll, and I am currently the companys VP of Human Resources. When I was in college, I got my MBA, and I also have a bachelors degree in accounting.

I currently make about $142,000 a year from my company, and I have a full benefits package. I hold one of the highest positions in the company, under the CFO, CEO, and the President. My current position is the highest point in my career that I will ever get. I'm only 34! I don't want to be doing the same exact job for another 30 years! I've been looking around at different careers, and they are all the same. Who would have thought that a Vice President was a dead end job!?!

I graduated college at the top of my class, and I love accounting. I want to start up my own accounting firm. The company that I currently work for, said that they would be my first client if I were to do so.

So, I contacted a lawyer and such, and they said that I will have to go a while without a paycheck, and that it will cost a hefty amount of money to start up the company. (about $250,000). My wife is supporting me with the idea of it, but I'm worried that it will affect my credit. I have perfect credit, I've never missed any payments on anything.

I always pay my bills on time, and I am very smart with saving my money. To cover the start up costs, I would have to get a $150,000 business loan, and I would also cash out $100,000 from my investment portfolio. I have enough money to go without a paycheck for about a year, and I have $1,200/month in rental income from my rental property, so that will help with expenses. 

My question is this: 

Will getting a $150,000 business loan for a new business affect my credit? If so, how will it be affected?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
llecs
Moderator Emeritus