cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for my first credit card; the Chase Freedom CC!

tag
Youngcredit23
New Contributor

Approved for my first credit card; the Chase Freedom CC!

Hey everyone,

I am 18 years old, and I was approved for my first credit card, the Chase Freedom, in October.

Initially, when I first applied for the Chase Freedom, I ended up being denied; I was denied due to the fact that I had no previous credit history. When I got the letter I was denied, I called the reconsider phone number and pleaded my case. The lady still did not approve me, and recomended that I start of with a store card.

I was thinking about it, then I realized that because I was a college student, it would be a waste to pay the absurd interest rates that store cards usually offer. I also did not like the fact that I would have to use the store card at one specific store only.

I called the reconsider number once again a few days later, pleaded my case, and thankfully, the nice guy on the phone went ahead and approved me for my first ever credit card. He gave me a 500 CL, which was perfectly fine with me.

It's been three months that I have the Chase Freedom CC, and I love it! I've already taken advantage of the $100 cash back offer, which I loved. I've payed off each monthly statement in full since then, and I absolutely love having a credit card. I love the convience, the perks and rewards, and learning the responsibility at a younger age of having a credit card.

Big thanks to Chase for giving me the oppurtunity to start of with their Chase Freedom! Truely a honor!

Message 1 of 28
27 REPLIES 27
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Approved for my first credit card; the Chase Freedom CC!

Welcome to the forums and congratulations on your first CC with Chase.  Looks like you're off to a good start!

Message 2 of 28
Josh2942
Established Contributor