cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Approved, how long to wait to app with another bank?

tag
if6was9
Established Member

Chase Approved, how long to wait to app with another bank?

I was approved for Chase Freedom two weeks ago. I currently have a BOA cash rewards ($3500), the newly opened Chase Freedom ($3000) and a Capital One Secured card ($3000) which is my currently oldest card (I've had it for more than 2 years). I want to close my CapOne card ASAP so I can get my deposit back. I was thinking since I already established some relationship with CapOne, I could probably take advantage of this and try to get one of their prime cards, since I already have two good cards.

I've been rebuilding for the past two years and it's time for me to just forget about credit for a while, I think I've done all I can and time will take care of the rest. I would like to have 3 cards max (plus one store card that I already have), so closing CapOne would leave me with only 2. 

Will I have any problems with Chase if I apply for another card with CapOne right now? I've heard they're picky about inquiries and such. Luckily I don't have too many recent inquiries, I think I have 3 or 4. The Chase inquiry being the most recent and the other ones are already about 1 year old. Unfortunately CapOne does not graduate.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: Chase Approved, how long to wait to app with another bank?

@if6was9 wrote:

I was approved for Chase Freedom two weeks ago. I currently have a BOA cash rewards ($3500), the newly opened Chase Freedom ($3000) and a Capital One Secured card ($3000) which is my currently oldest card (I've had it for more than 2 years). I want to close my CapOne card ASAP so I can get my deposit back. I was thinking since I already established some relationship with CapOne, I could probably take advantage of this and try to get one of their prime cards, since I already have two good cards.