Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX third card application help

tag
pat0812
Regular Contributor

AMEX third card application help

I've been using AMEX for the last 2 years.

I initially got the PGR Gold as charge card and 4 months later I applied for the  Blue card and got $5,000 CL

After 61 days I got a CLI to $13,200

I used to pay all balances in full, until last year I had some unexpected needs and I kept a balance of over $8,000 and I was paying every month minimum payments every month.

I recently lowered the balances to $5,000 and my Experian Fico is  at 744, because my UTI went down to 19%

So with this balance I tried to get a CLI from AMEX and was declined.

I have applied today for Chase Slate and  Citibank Simplicity and was approved for $5,750 and $10,800.

I'm planning on transfering all my AMEX balance to those cards, as I get 0% APR for 18 months.

Should I apply for a new AMEX once I transfered all the balances and wait for my AMEX to report $0 balance ?

Regarding my card I was declined CLI, in 90 days will I have a better chance getting a CLI since my balance will be $0 ?

Does Amex remember I kept a balance for a while or they look at what are my standings right now ?

FICO 8's EX 770 EQ 751 TU 771 (1/16/17)
Amex Gold Premier rewards ( Charge Card)
Amex Blue cash - $47,800 Wells Fargo - $15,000 Citibank Simplicity - $13,800 Barclays Apple - $13,000 Walmart Mastercard - $8000 Chase Slate - $7,200 Discover It - $5,500 Capital One - $5,250
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: AMEX third card application help