Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap One Denial/Review/IDK??

tag
Foodie2018
Contributor

Cap One Denial/Review/IDK??

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this MyFICO, and this forum, I've been lurking for some time now.

I have started a crusade to clean up my credit within the last year. So far, I have been able to pull my score up from 539 in September of 2017, to a 666 as of now. I'm currently sending out DV letters, I have had 7 of the 13 collection accounts deleted, I also have a Credit One and Cap One sec cc, which I pay both faithfully and on time every single month, with a zero balance. I also have a SelfLender installment loan that I just opened, so that it could report to my CR and hopefully boost my score as well.

Fast forward to yesterday, I finally worked up the nerve to apply for the unsecured QS Cap One, because............(drum roll please) CK recommended it. SMH, I think that was my first mistake to begin with, bc I don't think their recommendations are always accurate. But maybe I was feeling alittle over confident, being as though I handled the secure cc so well and that my score improved overall. So anyway, I applied and I got the dreaded "7-10 day, review etc...." So, now I'm stressed because I'd like to get this card to reduce my utilization, and improve my score by showing that I can handle a new card responsibly.

I called in to check the status yesterday evening, I spoke to a rep who explained that the application was pending. I've read on here and other boards that it could really go either way. Plus, I've seen people post that they were approved with scores lower than the 600's, I'm not sure what the method to their madness is, but I'm feeling a little discouraged. ( I know it may seem strange, but I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY want to break the 700s by the summer).  We plan on getting a mortgage next spring and I think this card will help, in addition to settling some derogatories.