Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cards for low credit scores & bad credit that pull TRANSUNION and strategy

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Cards for low credit scores & bad credit that pull TRANSUNION and strategy

I've been rebuilding my credit for the past 5 months. I opened a few cards with awful credit 5 months ago and my credit is still low but I just put out a ton of applications targeting transunion (as that is my high score) and wanted to share the data.

Strategy if you are rebuilding your credit:

1) Apply with Capital One, they are a subprime lender and target people with low and bad credit. Try Capital One Mastercard, then wait a few months and apply for Capital One student Journey Rewards. You need to be a student for Journey rewards. I was asked to produce a student related document and lets just say they don't investigate too deeply Smiley Wink. You get access to weekly credit scores with CreditWise (TU)!

2) Open a discover secured IT card. Great cash back, awesome company. You get a monthly TU Fico score (note there are different FICO models, im not sure which it is, it may be the generic CC one).

3) Open a student CC with Wells Fargo or a bank that you have an existing relationship with. Student cards are targeted to people no/low credit and combining that with having your checking with them boosts your chance. You could do a secured CC as well. If you get denied, perhaps try again after a few months of rebuild. If your parent is willing, have them add you onto one of their checking accounts at their bank, you will show up in that banks system as an existing customer.

Credit Cards for low/bad credit that seem to mainly pull TU. (I have 2 late payments within the last 8 months, 670ish score on credit karma and other sites, and some settled derogatory accounts over the last 5 years). I had a rent reporting service only on my TU, it didnt seem to boost score but did seem to improve my credit profile.