Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Cards for Students

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Cards for Students

I'm looking to add another credit card to my collection. I am currently a college student and am wondering if there are credit cards targeted for Students with little to no Credit? I have 6 months of credit history, but no Fico score get. I have a Discover it(6months) secured with $200, and a Capital One Quicksilver which I just upgraded from Platinum(3months), with $400 unsecured. And i am a AU on Best Buy(5months) with $1000. Any info would be very appreciated! Thanks.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit Cards for Students

You've already got cards from the two banks I would normally recommend (Discover and CapOne). As it stands, I would recommend waiting a little while longer and then applying for a better card. Perhaps something like a Chase Freedom? But if you're set on getting a card now, BoA has their cash rewards card for students. 3% back on gas, 2% on Groceries, and 1% on all else. If you buy gas reguarly this should fit your needs. Plus a $150 signup bonus is nice. 

Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

What about the Citi ThankYou Preferred Credit Card for College Students? I can't seem to find what scores are needed though.

Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

You've already got cards from the two banks I would normally recommend (Discover and CapOne). As it stands, I would recommend waiting a little while longer and then applying for a better card. Perhaps something like a Chase Freedom? But if you're set on getting a card now, BoA has their cash rewards card for students. 3% back on gas, 2% on Groceries, and 1% on all else. If you buy gas reguarly this should fit your needs. Plus a $150 signup bonus is nice. 

The students version does not have the $150 SUB... You must apply for the regular version.