Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Declined for student credit card...can't figure out why

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Declined for student credit card...can't figure out why

Hello Everyone,

I have always been nervous of credit cards, I had been taught that they are "dangerous" and can get you into alot of trouble. However, after reading through these forums I have come to realize that if you are responsible and pay off your cards qucikly, they can be an amazing boon.

I am a graduate student and decided to apply for the Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students, and was instantly denied. Honestly I am angry, and cannot figure out why I was denied.

My credit score is in the mid 700s according to all 3 major agencies, I have been an authorized user on a family member's 20+ year old card for the past couple years and I have a history of paying off my loans on time with no issues. I make a ~$13000 graduate salary, which is normal for a student, and a normal icome for this particular card according to reviews on Nerd Wallet. Lastly, I have a checking, savings and Traditional IRA and worked in a local business for 2 years. I have only had 2 hard inquiries made against my name in the past year.

Given the above I am very confused about why I was denied. I talked to a CS agent on the recon line and she told me that I would recieve a letter with the exact reasoning, and I can challenge it at that time if I so choose.

Do you guys think that I have any grounds to recon here, or am I out of line? Can you suggest any alternatives for someone like me?

Thanks!!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Declined for student credit card...can't figure out why

The letter they send you may not even tell you why they denied you, it may just show autogenerated reasons which can be pretty useless.

Citibank may not like being your first credit card bank -- even with a student card.