Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Declined secured credit card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Declined secured credit card

Sorry you got denied. I am no expert on this subject, but I think your denial has little to do with whether or not you would be a profitable customer and more to do with money laundering protections. If you have 3 credit cards already (especially if unsecured) they might be suspicious as to why you would need/want a secured card. Secured cards are a very popular means of money laundering, so solid banks tend to be very cautious about issuing them.
Message 11 of 19
joltdude
Senior Contributor

I

@Anonymous wrote:
1) Grasshopper bottom line there is a reason, these cards are not pushed like other products (💰)
Secondly as for missed $30 payments costing ppl their entire $500+ deposits... I'm sorry that sounds like hogwash....I'd love to have that claim substantiated.

@2) I like @joltdude find it intriguing how 2 different institutions have not sent back security deposits after half a DECADE of responsible use, neither USAA nor State hasn't unsecured with 5k and 2k well managed TLs in addition to $2500 at Citi over a year????

Perhaps there are some identity issues or something that presents as a RED flag towards offering unsecured TLs to the OP
Generally, companies wouldn't even ask, they just inform folks...hey Congrats you've been unsecured your checks in the mail but over 5 years worth of ARs with the usage and behavior as described, doesn't add up

*I will say with several thousand dollars tied up in secured accounts and wanting to secure more I can see a question regarding money laundering etc being a concern

As for the most recent denial, one has to wonder WHY a secured? why with a decent enough credit score and based upon that profile a decent enough score exist to app unsecured again why, what's the catch...is it I.D. theft...is it laundering....

Odd things = Potential Risk