Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fraud Alert Ruining My Application Plans

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fraud Alert Ruining My Application Plans

I have been working hard on my credit for over 5 years trying to achieve the best reports 

and scores possible. 

I now have very solid credit files and scores.

I recently noticed a collection for a $197 medical bill on my Experian report in which I

immediately disputed.

Experian removed this from my credit report in only 2 days  WOW .... Thats awesome !

Well...a fraud alert has now been sent to all of the CRA's       Smiley Sad

I had BIG plans for Monday, was going to finally reap my rewards and get myself my first Amex and Chase cards.

Now what ?

First of all I get NO Pre approvals from anyone anymore.

Secondly, I have heard that I may be outright rejected if I apply for any cards because of the alerts.

What are my options, and will I still be able to apply for the cards without a rejection due to the Fraud alert ?

I have been also told that If approved, I may even receive a higher interest rate and lower SL duer to this.

Any help will be greatly appreciated   

28 REPLIES 28
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Fraud Alert Ruining My Application Plans

Did you dispute the account online or via phone?  That's your error and it's one that people keep making because they think online/phone disputes are safe and faster than the paper route.

I only dispute accounts using USPS CMRRR and I've had them disappear within days of sending out the letter.  I've also seen probably hundreds of people get fraud alerts by using the phone or online dispute system because these are almost all "multiple choice" disputes where you have no real say in how you are specifically disputing a tradeline.

Now you get to play the fraud alert removal game -- do it in writing, by postal mail, and request a copy of your credit reports (paper version) in your letters.