Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Credit Card - No SSN

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Credit Card - No SSN

Hi,

I am visiting the US for 3-4 months a year in the last few year.

I opened a BoA checking account back in 2009 and was approved my first travel card last July.

Earlier this month I decided to try and get a better card as I travel a lot.

I tried a few premium cards (maybe too early) and wasn't approved on the spot but I didn't call in any of them.

I then applied for an offer I saw on card match for CapitalOne Plan and was approved with 2k CLI.

A few days ago I tried Amex SPG card and got an email back that I was denied, said I had 703 score with experian but also noted that my credit history is rather new.

When checking BoA I have a 719 score (TU) and Nerd Wallet shows 709 (TU) as well...

A Few questions:

1) As I am new to this, is this regular in the first year?

2) Should I call any of the premium cards again (Amex Plat, Chase Saphire, Citi Prestige), as I didn't get an email from Amex regarding the denial like I did with the SPG card

3) Should I try going to a branch and apply?

4) Will opening a checking account with Chase/Citi help me out to get a card approved in a few months?

Thanks...

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Creditplz
Valued Contributor

Re: New Credit Card - No SSN

I think you should pull a 3B CR and see exactly where your scores are since Citi pulls EQ/EX, Amex pulls EX/TU, and chase pulls EX/TU, what is your utilization?. Your oldest account is 8 months old so I don't think CSP or the Citi prestige is quite in your reach just yet..
Message 2 of 11
Creditplz
Valued Contributor

https://www.discover.com/free-credit-score/

If you want to sign up for it, discover offers free monthly access to your Fico8 Experian score, no credit card required.
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

I signed up at discover and my fico score there (EX) is 703.