Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reasoning for Discover CLI DENY question

tag
JamesB95
Regular Contributor

Reasoning for Discover CLI DENY question

Hi,

So, Last week I applied for a Discover CLI and was denied via soft pull. I wasn't going to do another HP since I did one in Nov and need to chill on inquiries so I have room to apply for an Amex at the end of the year.

Anyways, I got the letter today explaining why. However, 2/3 of their reasons I don't fully understand.

1. "LENGTH OF TIME ACCOUNTS HAVE BEEN ESTABLISHED" -- I have had the card 7 months now.. CLI's are usually done 6 months after, how is it too early?

2. This one was too high of a balance (using about 40% of card, for now, paying off this month). -- I understood this one.

3. "PROPORTION OF LOAN BALANCES TO LOAN AMOUNTS IS TOO HIGH" -- Now this didn't make sense to me since I am deferred from all student loans right now. I am only a freshman in college... how and why would Discover include this if it is deferred for another 4 years about? Note: These are GOVERNMENT FAFSA loans, ONLY.

Thanks in advance for advice.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Reasoning for Discover CLI DENY question

Lenders basically just make up 2/3 reasons when they deny you.  

Too many inquiries can even be one inquiry 3 weeks before you app so..

I was denied CLI SP with Discover after 3 and 6 months so I took a HP that was not automatically approved and the rep asked if I wanted to talk to a credit analyst. 

I obviously said yes and she manually reviewed it and gave me $1.500 instead of $500 even when Chase reported $4,5k CL and a 2 months old Amex PRG. 

Discover is pretty conservative when I asked her why only $1,5k since Chase gave me 3 times more with no previous history with them she said that at least my Discover now became my second highest credit line... 

Never received a letter telling me why a SP CLI was not possible though. 

Message 2 of 5
JamesB95
Regular Contributor