Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sallie Mae card approval chances?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sallie Mae card approval chances?

I am a student with limited credit history. Oldest account is 1.5 years old, average account age of 11 months. I have 2 credit cards, Discover and NFCU. This past october, I took a student loan from Sallie Mae. Latest hard pull was the beginning of this month when I asked for a CLI from NFCU. Credit score from Discover earlier this month was 720. I last applied for a card (Discover) in March.

Utilization is 17% according to CK, but it hasn't updated in over a month and is now less than 10 (anyone know why Discover chose not to report for November?). Both Discover and NFCU increased my line of credit earlier this month, but CK doesn't reflect this change yet. Would it be better to wait to apply for the card once these increases are reported?

What are my odds of approval? Should I wait a bit longer?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 36
35 REPLIES 35
TRC_WA
Senior Contributor

Re: Sallie Mae card approval chances?

Hard to say... Barclay likes to see history and with no cards from them you might have difficulty.

i just got a Sallie Mae yesterday... After being an Apple card member for 16 months.

I started with Barclay in 9/13 with a $1200 Apple that I used to buy an iPhone. They auto CLI to $2200 at 6 months... then nothing else. I never asked for a CLI because I didn't want a HP. Once you get past the account opening 0% purchase promotion the card has no other rewards and becomes pretty useless. It still helps build credit with Barclay though!

That being said, I achieved my goal after 16 months with the Apple card. I wanted to get in the door with Barclay (which I did with the Apple card) then yesterday I applied and was approved for a $4500 Sallie Mae. I then took the $2200 Apple CL and moved it to Sallie Mae... and closed the Apple.

Mission accomplished.