Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I get a third card?

tag
gkinter
New Contributor

Should I get a third card?

Hey everyone,

4 month ago I got approved for a Chase Sapphire Preferred with a 9k starting limit. 

A week ago I got approved for a Capital One Venture with a 5k starting limit. 

I would like more cards, but I don't know if it would be a smart decision. Should I wait 6 month before applying for a third card? 

MY scores are 753,753,742. 

I would love an AMEX BCE, or another good cash back card by the way. Any ideas ? 

What are you guys thinking? What kind of card should I get? I am pretty new to the credit game... 

Thanks everyone!

9 REPLIES 9
austinguy907
Valued Contributor

Re: Should I get a third card?

With your scores you're prime for BCE and Discover.  I'd say get those 2 and be done for a year.

Message 2 of 10
gkinter
New Contributor

I'm just afraid I will be approved for a $1000 sl and I wouldn't see the point I'm that case . Should I apply for both by the way?
Message 3 of 10
Thomas_Thumb
Senior Contributor

@gkinter wrote:
I'm just afraid I will be approved for a $1000 sl and I wouldn't see the point I'm that case . Should I apply for both by the way?

I'd suggest waiting until January and then go for a Discover card. My guess is they may start you at $4.5k.

The nice thing about Discover card is CLI requests are only soft pulls and the CLIs are often in $5k or $6k increment.

Fico 9: .......EQ 850 TU 850 EX 850
Fico 8: .......EQ 850 TU 850 EX 850
Fico 4 .....:. EQ 809 TU 823 EX 830 EX Fico 98: 842
Fico 8 BC:. EQ 892 TU 900 EX 900
Fico 8 AU:. EQ 887 TU 897 EX 899
Fico 4 BC:. EQ 826 TU 858, EX Fico 98 BC: 870
Fico 4 AU:. EQ 831 TU 872, EX Fico 98 AU: 861
VS 3.0:...... EQ 835 TU 835 EX 835
CBIS: ........EQ LN Auto 940 EQ LN Home 870 TU Auto 902 TU Home 950
Message 4 of 10
austinguy907
Valued Contributor