Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To App for Citi AAdvantage or not?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

To App for Citi AAdvantage or not?

I have been eyeing this card for quite awhile now as I have been flying American Airlines for a few years now.

In October I get married and we plan on taking our honeymoon trip to Europe (we have been there a few times together so far and have racked up a few miles in the process with my AA account). We plan on flying to London or possibly Dublin as I have been to London twice now (love it there!) and then making our way through france, belgium, and then ultimatley ending in amsterdam where we plan to fly back home from. After a quick look, the trip will cost 45k miles and I currently have 28k saved up.. the Citi AAdvantage select card with $95 annual fee (waived for first year) has a 30k bonus mile offer after $1000 spent in first three months. Potentially I could get this card get the miles and then book the trip and pay around $500 in taxes/etc rather than the estimated 1200-1500 cost of booking the tickets each.

Does anyone have experience with this particular card? Is it worth it? do they tend to give decent CL's?

We usually travel atleast once maybe twice a year, typically oversea's to Europe, or to the carribean, so we don't necessarily travel a ton but we do put in a few miles.

I think I would qualify for the card,

748 TU from Disco card, 756 from my AMEX card, inquires are probably under 6 per bureau, no lates, new mortgage and new AMEX card recently. 110k individual income for myself,  1% util. Only cards I have are AMEX BCE ($11,500 sl) Disco IT ($9700) Regions platinum ($12,000) Macys ($6400)

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
bigpoppa09
Established Contributor

Re: To App for Citi AAdvantage or not?

@Anonymous wrote:

I have been eyeing this card for quite awhile now as I have been flying American Airlines for a few years now.