Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What counts as income?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What counts as income?

I have been getting low credit limits on new cards and having a hard time with CLI's, and I think that may partially be because of a low income. ($30k) I am a student and I work a little more than part time as a well paid server, but all of my school costs are covered through financial aid (grants and scholarships, minimal loans). So my question is, it the amount of scholarship and grant eligible to be counted as income on applications for credit?

It totals about $27k/year, and pays for tuition, housing, and a meal plan. 

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What counts as income?

What do you consider low limits purely out of curiosity? We all have different versions of low...

Then I may be able to provide some personal experience with my limits related to income... As always YMMV...
Message 2 of 26
Anonymous
Not applicable

Scores and Utilization can help us help you.

Message 3 of 26
sarge12
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I have been getting low credit limits on new cards and having a hard time with CLI's, and I think that may partially be because of a low income. ($30k) I am a student and I work a little more than part time as a well paid server, but all of my school costs are covered through financial aid (grants and scholarships, minimal loans). So my question is, it the amount of scholarship and grant eligible to be counted as income on applications for credit?

If it helps, I put down 30K as my income and my average credit card limit is 10K and I have 15 cards. I doubt it is the income that is causing your problem...Are you at or near your credit limit on any card? In my experience it is often those that are at too high utilization, or balances reporting on too many cards that have low credit limits.

TU fico08=812 07/16/23
EX fico08=809 07/16/23
EQ fico09=812 07/16/23
EX fico09=821 07/16/23