cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

21 years old need to build credit

tag
heisenberg24

21 years old need to build credit

EDIT 2/10/2014: I applied for platinum one and was approved right away with a 2k credit line. I got the card & I'm set now. Thanks for all the help guys

So long story short I'm basically 21 now with no credit. I've been an authorized user of my parents citibank mastercard since early 2010 but have no clue what my credit score/history is. I'm assuming it's low since Chase Freedom rejected me this summer. 

I've worked here and there but currenty not working ATM. I'm a full time college student. I knew I needed my own credit card since 18 but have been putting it off. I'm responsible, always my bills on time, good at managing money etc but obviously that doesn't matter since companies check your credit history. My parents have no problem helping me build credit such as being a cosigner, giving me the deposit money etc. The problem is it's really hard to get accepted since I have no past credit history other than being authorized to use my parents citi card and I'm not working atm. I've had a chase college account since 2010 but applied for their freedom during summer and got denied.  So anyone have any advice on where to apply etc? I'm in Southern Calfornia btw 

Message 1 of 39
38 REPLIES 38
GOldfishes
Contributor

Re: 21 years old need to build credit

Take a look at Bank Of America's secured card

Experian: 734 Equifax: 765 Transunion:776

BoA Cash Rewards($6500)|Fidelity Investment Rewards AMEX($5000)|Chase Freedom($4000)|
Chase Sapphire Preferred($6500)|Amex PRG ($NPSL)|Amex SPG($6000)|Amex Business Gold Rewards($NPSL)|Amex BCE ($10,200)|Citi AA Exec ($10,500)|
Message 2 of 39
Goose7
Valued Member

Go to your bank and apply for a secured card. You'll have to put down a deposit. But you are guaranteed to start getting your usage reported to the bureau's. Which will start building your credit profile.