Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for Amex PRG and Ulta MC

tag
shoegal
Valued Contributor

Approved for Amex PRG and Ulta MC

TL;DR: I was preapproved for 2 cards and was approved for both with a soft pull. Smiley Happy

Yesterday morning when I was paying my Amex bill for the ED, I check the offers section and at the top, there was a preapproval for the PRG with 50k points after spending $1k in 3 months. Honestly, I didn't know it was a preapproval since I'm very new to Amex. I click the link to learn more but I didn't apply and went on with my day.

I went to my appointment at Ulta beauty, I go there a lot and shop online and in store multiple times a month. I have wanted their store card (it has good rewards) but I've never gotten a preapproval at the register or the SCT to work. I don't like cold apping so I was patiently waiting for a preapproval. 

Yesterday, I finally got a preapproval at the register and I went for it. Thinking they will probably give me the store card with at most $500 SL since that's what VS did a few months ago. But nope! I got approved for the MasterCard version of the card with a $3,000 starting line. My highest one, yet. I was in shock since I got a card I really wanted. The approval was a soft pull so I went home super happy.

When I got home, I thought about the PRG (I applied three months ago and was denied) and how much I wanted the card and also that I didn't double check to see if the offer on Amex was just marketing or a preapproval. 

Well, I ignored it all day and when I was done with work, I finally check the offer and went to apply and yep it was a preapproval with the prescreen opt-out notice so I applied and instantly approved. It gave me the card number right away and I got the 50k points after 1k spending bonus. It was a soft pull! Gotta love Amex!