cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved for CapOne Venture with Lackluster to Average Credit

tag
cubuilding

Approved for CapOne Venture with Lackluster to Average Credit

This is maybe my second time posting on these boards, but I wanted to share my story for others who are looking to get new credit. I'm a recent college grad making 50k a year with about 16k in loan debt. I have 3 credit cards - one secured Cap1 with a $450 CL (started at 300, was increased about a year ago), one student Cap1 Journey with a $750 CL (started at 500, was increased about 6 months ago), and one Macy's card with a $100 CL (-_- cannot buy a thing). My credit report is less than 3 years old, and my AAoA is probably around 1.5 years. I have 1 60-day late about a year and a half ago from a mess-up on Macy's end that they refuse to correct and I'm done battling. I was just approved for a Cap1 Venture card - generally for people with 'excellent' credit - with a $5000 limit, 20 minutes after being denied CLIs on both Cap1 accounts. While my Experian was 710 (just entered the 700 club this month), whatever co. CreditKarma pulls put me at 687. So excellent by no means.

I think a few things helped me:
- my credit history with cap1. Even though I knew I had a better chance applying for other cards (CKarma said I had very poor chances and I read countless internet reviews), I figured that I'd never been late with Cap1 and infrequently carried a balance. If anyone was gonna go out on a limb for me and give me a 'big kid' credit card, it should be them.
- my utilization. It'd dropped down to 3% from about 30% 6 months ago. That is to say, I said eff credit, set up my cell phone bill to one card, put the cards far away and didn't check my scores for a long time.