Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First ever amex prequal, should I do it? - Update: Approved

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First ever amex prequal, should I do it? - Update: Approved

Hello to all you fair myfico denizens out there Heart, I'm in need of a little advice here Smiley Happy

Some of you may already have seen some of this back story so feel free to skip ahead to the data points Cat Very Happy

I've been doing the prequal circuit for a couple months now, didn't get any hits at all till I had 6 months of history under my belt - and thus a fico score (which was only about a month ago), and once i did it was only for capital one platinum and QS1. Then a maybe week or two later i got 3 prequals from us bank for some very appealing cards that I figured were well out of my reach, all with single APRs (the highest available - which did make them seem a little more legitimate to me). I kept my composure and didn't pounce on them, and right around the same time I had a fraudulent transaction on my discover card prompting them to issue a new card and account number - which in turn caused the original account to drop off my CRs thus tanking my scores (my vantage scores, I didn't see my FICOs between then and now and my score remains the same with the same accounts and util - my discover is my AZEO balance reporting card - so I'm thinking everything is sorted out, vantage scores rebounded as well however for some odd reason they're still not showing the discover card, it reports around the 12th or so though so I'll see what happens a few days later, I think there's just some kind of weird lag going on - I highly doubt 1 inq aging past 6 months would cause a 25 point jump lol but I guess you never know with vantage, I know they can be wonky). Once the score drop/discover incident happened us bank no longer had any prequals for me, and they still don't. But something in the garden club thread (of all places lol) made me think a little, and I tr