Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synovus CLI

tag
MrDisco99
Valued Contributor

Synovus CLI

I got my Synovus cash rewards card as my first foray back into credit cards after swearing them off a decade ago.  Going "credit free" just seemed pointless after getting a mortgage.  Synovus is my local bank and I've kept my deposits there for decades.

They started me off with a $1000 CL.  I learned all about paying down to the lowest possible balance before statement printing.  Got it down to a science.  The silly 1% return just didn't seem worth it, though, as I started learning about the rewards so many other cards had to offer.  As soon as I got my Cap1 QS with its $10K limit, my Synovus card became instantly obsolete.

I left it open since it didn't cost me anything, but hardly used it.  Then in October they revamped the rewards program and started offering 3% on dining plus 3% on chosen category.  When I got what I wanted from my points cards and started focusing on cash back again, this card went back in my wallet.  The low limit was annoying, though, so I figured I'd bite the bullet and click the CLI button.

The Synovus credit card experience isn't well covered online, so I had nothing to go on.  Turns out, when you request a CLI, they just ask for your income and your rent/mortgage payment.  And then they tell you to wait 3-5 business days.  No instant decision here.  Also, I waited for a HP alert but never got one.  Looks like they base it on a SP.

EDIT: I spoke too soon.  They hard pulled EQ.

I logged in this morning to check my balance since my statement was set to print today.  And to my amazement, the credit limit showed up as $9,000!

While I'm pleased as punch to see it, I was surprised I never got an email telling me of their decision.  I'm guessing I'll get a letter in the mail.

So my little local bank just earned back a permanent slot in my wallet among my arsenal of goliath bank cards.