cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

19 y/o college student needs help deciding what to do next

tag
Ewing3

19 y/o college student needs help deciding what to do next

I am a 19 y/o student, and the only things on my credit report are a car loan with my dad (started at 27K, currently at 15K) and a chase freedom in my name alone. I have had the car loan since February 2013 & the Freedom since October 2013. I have perfect payment history on both, and keep my utilization below 10% on the cc, currently around 6%. Credit Karma & Credit Sesame both have my score at 698.

My annual income is about $12K. Chase has recently raised my limit from $500 to $1000, but it hasn't reported yet because my statement closes in a couple weeks. My next step is that I wanted to pick up a second credit card. I wanted to get an Amex, preferably the new everyday card or one of the blue cards, but idk if I'd actually get approved. The other option I was considering was applying for the Discover IT for students card, and then applying for an amex in December so that I can have a 2014 MSD. Also, CK claims I have 10 hard inquiries but my experian only shows 3 & they're all older than 6 months.

What should I do & is there something I should be doing that I haven't considered?

EDIT: Checked my experian score, it's a 720.

Cards as of 5/13/2014 – Listed in order received – Mouse over for name, limits, and day received

TU FICO via Barclay – 748; Card Carrying Garden Member As of 5/12/2014, Gardening (at least) until early 2015!
Message 1 of 29
28 REPLIES 28
AeroKrix
Frequent Contributor

Re: 19 y/o college student needs help deciding what to do next

@Ewing3 wrote: