Re: 1st date... Whip out the Discover?

@jsickz32 wrote:
Cash or cc if you played your cards right you should get rewarded lol

Lol.

Message 61 of 103
creditnocash
Valued Contributor

im surprised no one has said debit cards? guess those went out of style. 

like stated if the date doesnt like it let them pay. 

personally ive used the freedom/zync and debit card or cash. 

if its under 100 i pay cash/debit. 

if its over amex/chase/Bank Card

Current: Fico ScoresEQ~706 TU~719 EX 709 4/28/23

Inquiries (24 Months): EQ 0 TU 0 EX 0| Most Recent: A LONG WHILE
Over 12 Months:0

2023 Goals:
Buy A Home
Earn Cash Back

Amex Zync(Unicorn)
Chase Freedom$1500
Discover IT$7,400
Citi DC $10,000
Citizens Mastercard$7,000

Message 62 of 103
Anonymous
Not applicable

When I was a law student (2003-2006), I hung out with a few older professionals who took turns paying for drinks/dinner.  I was always exceedingly impressed by their AMEX cards and the picture of financial health that the cards portrayed. I'm still impressed by credit cards.  It kind of conjures the image of someone obsessing over the visceral element of touching the card - a la Patrick Bateman in American Psycho.

Message 63 of 103
KingAdrock
Established Contributor

@cashnocredit wrote:

Take your date to Denny's then (try to) pay with a $25 coin.

You can actually buy a legal $25 US coin from the government mint but it will cost around $600. They are made of platinum, weigh about 1/4 oz, are roughly the same color and size as a quarter. Even though it is clearly, but in a tiny font, marked $25 US, in all likelihood the waiter will think you are trying to pull some sort of fast one so be prepared with regular cash or CC with a little extra tip for the hassle.  Guaranteed to make an impression on your date.

Though not, perhaps, the one you might want.