cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

26yo grad student; never had a credit card, denied for preapproved and secured cards--what to do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

26yo grad student; never had a credit card, denied for preapproved and secured cards--what to do?

Hi everyone,

I'm a 26 year-old graduate student who has been trying to establish credit.  I have been denied for three cards--two US Bank Visa cards I had been preapproved for and one US Bank Secured card.

I have about 20k in student debt and was 3 months delinquent four years ago.  I have either been a student or working (for cheap) at academic institutes my entire life.  Except for those three months, I have been in a state of deferment for my education loans.  I have no other credit history whatsoever.

I'm super-overwhelmed by all the info out there and have no idea what I can do to begin building credit.  I've been reading the posts from this forum (which is where I got the idea to apply for the secured card), but as of now am entirely clueless on how to move forward.

I would deeply appreciate a shove in the right direction.

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
WhyDidntIListentoMom
Established Member

Re: 26yo grad student; never had a credit card, denied for preapproved and secured cards--what to do

Have you pulled your credit report? What is your score?

Also, I completely understand the situation you are in. I had limited credity history and a plethora of Sallie Mae dings in my credit but you can overcome these challenges!

Starting Score: EX 594
Current Score: EX 680
Goal Score: 725

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

AMEX PRG - NPSL | USAirways MC - 7.4k | Wells Fargo VS - 4.7k | Chase Freedom MC - 3.5k | BML CL 2.5k | J.Crew Retail - 1.47k
Message 2 of 16
lithium78
Established Contributor

Re: 26yo grad student; never had a credit card, denied for preapproved and secured cards--what to do