Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Good Second Credit Card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

A Good Second Credit Card

Hello!  I am relatively new to building my credit.  I have had a Discover It Chrome card for a little over two years now.  It was secured for a year with a limit of $200 and now it is unsecured with a limit of $1300.  According to Discover, my FICO is a 734.  I am looking for suggestions for a new card and I would like tips and input on what cards I might have an easier time getting approved for, seeing as my file is very thin.  Thanks in advance!

16 REPLIES 16
mitchblue
Valued Contributor

Re: A Good Second Credit Card

It might help if we knew what you're looking for? Reward cards, bonus, something for gas, shopping, airfare, food etc?

FICO® 8 Scores 821 FICO® 9 Equifax 826 (Updated 02-7-23)
Message 2 of 17
Blodreina
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello!  I am relatively new to building my credit.  I have had a Discover It Chrome card for a little over two years now.  It was secured for a year with a limit of $200 and now it is unsecured with a limit of $1300.  According to Discover, my FICO is a 734.  I am looking for suggestions for a new card and I would like tips and input on what cards I might have an easier time getting approved for, seeing as my file is very thin.  Thanks in advance!

With two years of credit card history and a TU fico of 734, you can probably get approved for most cards.  Like the other poster said, what are you looking for?  If you're just wanting another simple cashback card, I would say the Quicksilver, Blispay, or Paypal Cashback mastercard (each with their own advantages).  The Quicksilver (1.5%) will be an almost sure thing for approval.  The Blispay is 2% and has 6 months no interest on purchases over $199 (love it).  The PayPal card is also 2% and through Synchrony Bank, which means the card's limit is likely to grow over time.

Message 3 of 17
AverageJoesCredit