Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A good companion card to my Barclay Arrival+

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

A good companion card to my Barclay Arrival+

I apologize in advance if I am asking some ignorant questions as I am very new to the "optimizing my credit" process.  Due to past circumstances, I only have one credit card (The Barclay Arrival+) that I opened in April 2014 primarily because of the sign-up bonus.  Usage-wise, I charge ~$2000 a month and make various payments throughout said month to ensure that I have a very low statement balance (which I then PIF).  In order to maximize the value of my card, I only use my reward miles towards travel expenses.  I am also coming up on the 6th month of ownership so I am hoping for a CLI at that time.  According to the Barclay FICO tool, my credit score is 797.

I understand that one credit card is not optimal so I have been looking at apping for another card (maybe more - you tell me) after the 6th month of Barclay ownership.  Getting another card seems to be a good idea because there will also be some additional spending in my future (vacation, Christmas shopping, new washer/dryer).  These scenarios will make it even easier to reach the spending requirements of many sign-up bonuses.

This leads me to a few questions:

• Am I on the right track by obtaining another card?
  • If yes, what is a good companion card to app for?  I have been looking closely at the Chase Sapphire Preferred because of the sign-up bonus.  Reaching the spending requirements will not be a problem based on my upcoming monthly budget.
  • Should I be apping for more than one card?

I am very open to all advice and greatly appreciate any help!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
ficobgtx
Regular Contributor

Re: A good companion card to my Barclay Arrival+

@Anonymous wrote: