Did you mean: 

A little lost with my options.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

A little lost with my options.

Hello,

First time poster long time reader.

Let me start off saying I'm new to credit. I live with in my means so have never needed it. Late next year I'm going to buy a house so I wanted to start building my numbers. Anyway currently I have a capital one with a 500 limit and a finger hut with a 300 limit.  I'm looking to get one more card before I apply for a car loan in the next 6 to 8 weeks "before all the pulls"and let my accounts garden for the next 9 months to a year.  I currently have a TU score of 673 and a Equifax of 648.  My utilization is 14% which I pay off as soon as I get the statement.  I was turned down for Barclays prior to getting my Capital One so I'm thinking that's out.    I guess I'm just a little lost. I really do not want to get a secured card because I'm putting all my money away for a new car.       Would Chase be the best option for me?  Do they recon well?   

Thanks so much for all the help.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Santi78342
Established Contributor

Re: A little lost with my options.

How old are your current accounts? Any collections? How long ago were you turned down for Barclays? INQs? Income? Have you checked Chase Prequal? Where are those scores from? 

Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

My oldest account is 11.4 years old. A student loan. I was late 1 payment 6 years ago due to a mix up with the post office.The student loan is now completely paid off.  Credit report says my AAoA is 3.3 years. But my Capital One and Finger Hut cards are only 3 months old. I have nothing in collects or any charge off's. I was turned down from Barclays about 3-4 months ago.   And personal income in 42-50k per year depending on work load but total house hold income is around 75k. 

My TU is from Capital One they offer free Scores for members, and my Equifax is from the Equifax web site. I caught a deal and got a year member.