Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Gold Offer

tag
GaTech
Frequent Contributor

AMEX Gold Offer

My first post to the forums!!!

I was approved for the AMEX BCE with 6K limit in December 2012 and received an offer in the mail today to apply for AMEX Gold (not PRG) with a sign up bonus of 25,000 MR points (after spending 1K in first 3 months) and annual fee waived for 1st year. 

Since I have BCE for groceries, should I app (assuming I'm accepted) just for the sign up bonus and cancel before the membership fee hits? I don't really have a need for a charge card but for a free 1yr trial including a sign up bonus I was wondering if y'all thought its worth the hard pull. 

My income is 24,000 (I'm a student) and I pushed 12k with my Wells Fargo Visa (900 limit) and I rarely carry a balance. 

As of 1/10/2014 EX FICO - 748. EQ FICO - 728. Trans FICO - 755

WellsFargo - $3,000 AMEX BCE - $18,000 Chase Freedom - $4,000

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
chnceit
Valued Contributor

Re: AMEX Gold Offer

Welcome to the forums! 

Your BCE will be a nice CL after its 61 days! Just remember  to keep your utilization low and dont let anything unexpected to happen.

If you apply for the Gold and dont get approved then its a SP, its an AMEX thing Smiley Wink which is great!

Most people apply for the PRG because of the higher rewards 3 points for airfare and 2 points for gas & supermarket and no AF. Here is a link for the same offer you got, but for the PRG HERE

Good luck and once again welcome to the forums!

Last Pulled EQ: 809
Last Credit Card App: 02/05/2016
Last CLI: 02/06/2016
Find Me: Gardening
Message 2 of 6
jsucool76
Super Contributor

I would just app for prg (i think it is the same signup bonus) and then you can at least earn a few more bonus points before the AF hits.
Message 3 of 6
GaTech
Frequent Contributor