Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Zync denied on spending ability

tag
danisgods
Regular Contributor

AMEX Zync denied on spending ability

Alright, so i just got my Zync in the mail today ,(beautiful looking card BTW) i ran a spending ability check for $5000.00 and it says it wouldn't be approved at this time, they would need further info on the purchase and i should call them up, i am not gonna call them because i am not spending that money at all, just wanna see what my range would be.

Why did that happened? because i am new with them, and they dont know my spending habits? or?.....

Anything helps..

Thanks.

Starting Score: TU 715 EQ 704
Current Score: TU 715 EQ 704
Goal Score: 760-780

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
CHARGE_IT
Regular Contributor

Re: AMEX Zync denied on spending ability

First day and you run a spending check for 5k. Why not 25k? Seriously, go a little easy. New card first day with any bank is like a first date. If you get what you want you don't want it anymore cause everyone else has had it.

They would have said yes to 1k and depending on what you do between then and the next request it would double. They just want to know you are not baking brownies or such.

Use it well, and good luck on your first day

(this goes for guys and gals)

CI

Message 2 of 12
andre181
Established Contributor

They likely use info from your CR and your income and other statistics about you to determine an appropriate amount they would allow you to spend.

The day I got my Zync, I tried the spending ability thing and started to be denied between $9,000 and $10,000, but now its down to about $5,000 or $6,000. I'm sure they lowered mine because I've opened many accounts since my Zync and I don't charge a lot on my Zync, only like $300-$500 every month lately.

Don't worry, for most purchases they will approve you.