cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX - looking for advice for next steps..

tag
dogblood
Established Member

AMEX - looking for advice for next steps..

Hi Everyone !

First off want to thank everyone for the wealth of knowledge on this board - I've learned alot about the credi scoring system, and I'm sure I will learn a ton more as I continue scouring this board for "gems".

I am new to the US - came here as an Intercompany transfer  - After reading through the forums I made what I thought was an educated decision to open my first US bank account with DCU.  

Along with my checking account, at the advice of posts on this board and the online chat asistant I applied for the unsecured VISA card.  I was a bit nervois as I had only gotten my SSN a couple of days ago - but figured everyone must start somewhere right?

A few hours later I was approved with an initial credit limit of 3k! 

Now what I want to do is strategize on my plan over the next year, and beyond.  I would imagine I need more than 1 TL to build and establish a strong credit profile.

Having said this, I think obtaining an AMEX card is great because even if I start small the AAoA will benefit me as my credit grows.  

I have a substantial income, and very stable job -- Do you think AMEX is the right choice? should I go for another type of card ?  What about timing? I want to get into a space where I'm gardening 2-3 TL as early as possible. (im an efficiency freak).

Let me know what you guys think.

Thanks again for all of the great insight!

Gardening since: 09/27/2013 Goal: Golden spade
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: AMEX - looking for advice for next steps..

Welcome to the forums !

I'll move this post to Credit Cards forum for better visibility.

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 13
bman86
Regular Contributor

@dogblood wrote:

Hi Everyone !