cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX made 2 HP from the same new card! What should I do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AMEX made 2 HP from the same new card! What should I do?

I am new with credit history. My credit history is about 2 months since late October 2017.

Credit cards that I have right now are:

Open in late October 2017

1.Discover it Cash Back $1,750 CLI (the first card)

2.Wells Fargo Secured Card $300 CLI (2 Hard Pulls - the first one with WF Cashback student was declined because I am a foreigner graduate student.)

Open in November 2017

3.American Express Blue Cash Everyday $1,000 CLI

AMEX made 2 Hard Pulls with one single card! Is this normal to get two hard pull from the same card??? 

The first time in November when I applied for it then again couple days ago when it starts reporting to 3 bureaus.

I now have 6 hard pull in total on Equifax and 5 HP on TU.

I moved to US in 2016 (previously in 2012). I have my SSN since 2012.

The HP are from a mobile network, internet (2 times as they can't find my credit history in 2016), rent (two times since 2016), and few unsuccessful credit cards application.

My credit score also drops dramatically for 46-47 points as of today!!!

705 to 658 (Equifax)

700 to 654 (TU)

N/A (Experian) - less than 6-month credit history

I don't have anything other credit cards, no derogatory marks, no public records.

Income is about $55,000.

Payment is on time 100%

Credit Utilization 0% ($9 of $3,050)

I know I have too many cards in such a short period of time. I am not looking for any new card this year 2018.

QUESTIONS:

1.Should I file a dispute for 2 HP from AMEX?

2.Will my score be better after this huge drop? 

I need to move again for a job after my graduation in May 2018. I don't want it to be my problem for renting a place.

I would appreciate it if someone could explain it to me.

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable